This project has moved. For the latest updates, please go here.

Linux PMU Simulator

Developer
Nov 17, 2010 at 6:05 PM

I'm new to the openPDC environment/technology.  I've seen a couple posts mentioning PMU simulators and was wondering if anyone can point me in the right direction?

I'm looking to deploy openPDC as part of a college competition and am in need of sensors to feed data to the openPDC across a closed network.  Setting up openPDC looks pretty straightforward, but now I'm in need of sensors to run on linux systems spread across the network.

If anyone knows, or can help point me in a good direction for this, I'd greatly appreciate it.

Please and thank you,

Tim Rosenberg

Coordinator
Nov 17, 2010 at 8:48 PM

Wow - that sounds fun! Let us know how we can help. Few ideas: (1) one simple way would be to setup a Java app that simply read the raw sample file data that comes with the openPDC (Sample1344.PmuCapture) and rebroadcast it over UDP or TCP, (2) get in contact with Dr. YiLu (University of Tennessee now was at Virginia Tech before) about connecting to some real F-NET (this may now be called GridEye) devices on the Internet, (3) contact SEL or other vendors about borrowing some equipment and/or connecting to their Internet based sample connections, (4) try to get some of the openPDC running under Mono on Linux (see: Device to Data in 5 Easy Steps) - been wanting to tinker with this myself but don't have the time.

Best of Luck!
Ritchie

Developer
Nov 18, 2010 at 12:11 AM

Thank you for the quick reply.  I'll give 1 and 4 a try.  I'll be sure to document any progress.  I'm planning on running the openPDC on a Windows 2008 server and the DB back end on linux MySQL.  Open 3 may work.  Part of the competition revolves around security, so I'm not sure how many vendors will like to play.

I'll keep you posted.

Thank you,

Tim

Developer
Nov 18, 2010 at 12:40 AM
Edited Nov 18, 2010 at 12:58 AM

What is your competition deadline?