This project has moved. For the latest updates, please go here.

web.config file?

Aug 31, 2011 at 12:43 AM
Edited Aug 31, 2011 at 2:59 PM

Hi. Sorry for what's probably a newbie question, but, hey, I'm a newbie!

I'm in the Configuration section of the "How to use OpenPDC Manager" document, having successfully (I think) installed OpenPDC using the installer.I previously installed SQL Server 2008 R2 Express (also, I hope and think, successfully).

In the "Changing the Base Service URL" section it says, "If you used the installers, you will need to modify the "web.config" file in the openPDCManager (this is different from "web.config" in the openPDCManagerServices) to point to the correct services URL...", but the only web.config files I find are not in with OpenPDC Manager but in C:\WINDOWS\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v2.0.50727\CONFIG, and they don't seem to be the ones you're talking about.

In the meantime, if I try to run the OpenPDC Manager, I get a warning message:

OpenPDC Manager :: Access Denied
Error loading security provider: Failed to open data connection -
check "Connection String" in configuration file: 'C:\Program Data
\openPDC\openPDC.mdb' is not a valid path. Make sure that the
path name is spelled correctly and that you are connected to the
server on which the file resides.
OK

There seem to recall a step along the way where I thought we were telling openPDC that it would be using SQL Server not Access, but the "mdb" implies it's looking for Access. ?

Can you spot my error? Thanks!

Steve Sturgill at SRP

Edit to add that I searched for the word "BaseServiceUrl" (the key whose value needs to be changed in the "web.config" file I'm after) in files on my local hard drives, but the search came up empty.

Coordinator
Sep 14, 2011 at 12:54 AM
Edited Sep 14, 2011 at 1:10 AM

Are you trying to install the web based openPDC Manager? If the GUI based version will suffice, the setup wizard will walk you through this process.