This project has moved. For the latest updates, please go here.

Configuring output using OpenPDC Manager

Aug 12, 2014 at 11:06 AM
Hi all,

I'm quite new to PDCs in general and I'm trying to get openPDC set up on a network. I am having some issues with setting up a connection between the output stream and the connection tester.

After installing OpenPDC manager, there is a output stream called "TESTSTREAM" for the Shelby input. I am testing how I can send data across the network by trying to use the PMU connection tester to see if I get a feed from "TESTSTREAM".

Currently, I am getting a connection but not any data. I understand there is another thread on this topic already which was solved by using IPv6. However, the network that I have is I think is a private IPv4 network.

Here is a screenshot of what I'm seeing:
Coordinator
Aug 12, 2014 at 2:41 PM
Hello YuchenW,

To force IPv4 in the openPDC, use the openPDC Manager to configure it. Refer to the following image.

After modifying the TCP Channel and UDP Channel, don't forget to click the "Save" button, and then use the "Initialize" button to initialize the adapter.

Next, in the PMU Connection Tester, refer to the following image.

Once you have properly configured the connection in the PMU Connection Tester, click the "Connect" button and you should see data flowing shortly.

Thanks,
Stephen
Aug 13, 2014 at 10:38 AM
Edited Aug 13, 2014 at 10:39 AM
Thank you very much Stephen.

Following all of that, I now can get the data from "Shelby". I've now tried to do this on two machines on the network, and it works like a charm!

I now have a slightly different issue. I have one of the computers hooked up to a MICOMP847, and I'm trying to do exactly the same thing.
From the PC I'm on, I'm able to connect to MICOMP847 and produce a output stream which I can pick up using the Connection Tester. However, when I try to pick up the output stream on another machine on the network, I get the following: