This project has moved and is read-only. For the latest updates, please go here.

save measurements in mysql database

Jun 29, 2015 at 4:25 AM
Hi
I am new to openPDC.
I am able to receive data through openPDC Manager currently and these data are archived in C:\Program Files\openPDC\Archive, as D file.
My question is that I need to set up another way to archive these data in Mysql database. There are already some documentations and discussions about MysqlAdapters.dll, but I still not exactly know how to do.
Can I do this only through openPDC?
Is there any more documentation or guide in detail on this?

thanks.
Jun 29, 2015 at 6:57 PM
Hi TaoH,

You may have seen this already, but the following thread is probably our best resource on how to set up a MySQL archive for synchrophasor data.

http://openpdc.codeplex.com/discussions/571880

While it's possible to do, especially for smaller installations, we don't generally recommend using a relational database to archive synchrophasor data. As a result, we don't have any formal documentation on the topic.

Thanks,
Stephen
Jul 8, 2015 at 8:40 AM
Hi Stephen,

I am sorry for the late reply.
This is exactly what I need, write these measurement into Mysql database then fetch them by Matlab, thanks a lot.
I create a table under database openpdc first, then set up connection string under openpdc tool bar>outputs>Historians Instances, and I take AdoOutputAdapter as you recommend, but it's not work. Although I tried serveral days and looked for more documentation about AdoOutputAdapter, I don't know what's happened.
Here is what I did:

There is already a table called measurement in database openpdc, but definitions are different. so I changed the table name.

CREATE TABLE TimeSeriesMeasurement ( SignalID CHAR(36) NOT NULL, Timestamp BIGINT NOT NULL, Value DECIMAL(9, 6) NOT NULL);

Then, in the openPDC Manager, under Outputs > Historians Instances...

Acronym: PPA
Name: Primary Phasor Archive
Type Name: AdoAdapters.AdoOutputAdapter