This project has moved. For the latest updates, please go here.

Multi-Tier openPDC configuration

Developer
Aug 10, 2010 at 4:04 PM

Greetings to the openPDC community,

My name is Moustafa and I am a PhD Student at the Royal Institute of Technology in Stockholm, Sweden. I have been following discussions in this forum for some time and even posted two previous comments. I have been using the openPDC since February 2010, studying the code and using the framework to create custom clients.

I  am now trying to set up a multi-tiered openPDC configuration, I have not found similar previous discussion on this topic, nor have I found documentation relating to these issues, here goes. 

I actually have three openPDC servers, for the moment. I have configured all three servers to connect directly to PMUs, so that my collegues can do there research and use the data. Configuring PMUs to connect directly to PMUs has worked with the previous versions of openPDC and now with V1.1. what I would like to do and which i am trying to achieve, is to have only one openPDC server connected directly to the PMUs to act as the "Front End", then I would like to connect the other two servers to the Front end and recieve from it the data stream. The other two servers will have different functions, one will be a Historian and continuously archive data. The other Server will be an "Application server" that different client applications can connect to and subscribe to the standard data stream or "Down sampled" data streams.

For the simple application server I have configured my Front End  server (which is actually pre-V1.1. installed from nightly builds ) to send data to port 8800. I have used the PMU connector to connect to the Front End Server (i.e the openPDC server connected directly to the PMUs), here is the connection string from the PMU connector:

TransportProtocol=Udp;localport=8800;server=xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx;remoteport=8800;commandchannel={protocol=tcp; server=xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx; port=8900}