This project has moved and is read-only. For the latest updates, please go here.

question about connecting FDR with openPDC

Oct 11, 2010 at 11:20 PM

Hello, there

My name is Ye Zhang. I am a graduate student from the FNET Lab of UTK under the supervision of Dr.Liu. I started to configure PMU connection tester/openPDC to connect our FDRs these days and got some issues I don't quite know how to solve.

1.  In PMU connection tester, after defining the correct port and protocol, the connection tester got connected to the specific FDR(msg showed "connected to device...local server started...listening for...".  But one exception kept poping at Messages part: Exception: Bad data stream, did not find stop byte 0x00 in F-NET frame. However, when I forced clicking on "Graph" panel, I can actually see some curves going on. I don't quite understand what is wrong.

2. In the openPDC Manager, I used the same connection string for PMU connection tester, however I cannot make the connection. In the "System Console", it kept showing" attempting connection". I am wondering, if the connection could be established in PMU connection tester, it should mean the connection setting is correct, right? Then, why we can't make connection in openPDC Manager? And also, no errors were generated while attempting connection.

Thank you so much for reply in advance! I really appreciate that!

Oct 21, 2010 at 12:50 PM

Is there anyway you can send a sample of the data set for analysis? This way we can make sure the protcol parser is working as expected.

Thanks!
Ritchie

Nov 24, 2010 at 11:16 PM

Dear Ritchie!

Greetings from the land of the polar bears... we have a little "dusting" of snow in Stockholm.

I have made several tests about this issue which I have been facing since August with our colleague Moustafa, for a little while we managed to get it working by putting the FDR in TCP Client mode, but we had to reconfigure it to TCP Server mode because UT requested this.

Two tests are available: